DYNAMIC TYPOGRAPHY D|MA 155 WINTER 2006

Instructor: Peter Cho, TA: Takashi Kawashima

 Students
Schedule
Exercises
Syllabus
Week 1
Mon Jan 9
Introduction
Screening
Assign Exercise 1
Wed Jan 11
After Effects workshop 1
Individual discussion ideas for Ex. 1
Week 2
Mon Jan 16
Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Wed Jan 18
Critique Exercise 1
Assign Exercise 2
Screening
Week 3
Mon Jan 23
Lab + individual discussion ideas for Ex. 2
After Effects workshop 2
Wed Jan 25
Critique Exercise 2
Assign Exercise 3
Screening
Week 4
Mon Jan 30
After Effects workshop 3
Lab + individual critique
Screening
Wed Feb 1
Critique Exercise 3
Assign Exercise 4
Assign reading: What's Next For Text?
Week 5
Mon Feb 6
Research reports 1
Lab + individual critique
Screening
Discussion of reading
Wed Feb 8
Research reports 2
Lab + individual critique
Screening
DVD making tutorial
Week 6
Mon Feb 13
Critique Exercise 4
Assign Final Project
Wed Feb 15
Midterm review + DVD due
Lab
Week 7
Mon Feb 20
Presidents’ Day Holiday
Wed Feb 22
Research reports 3
Final: 3 ideas due
Lab + individual critique
Week 8
Mon Feb 27
Research reports 4
Final: 16+ frame storyboard due
Presentation of final project work in progress
Wed Mar 1
Research reports 5
Final: animatic due
Lab + individual critique
Week 9
Mon Mar 6
Research reports 6
Lab + group critique
Wed Mar 8
Final: rough edit due
Lab + individual critique
Week 10
Mon Mar 13
Lab + individual critique
Wed Mar 15
Final project due
Screenings in class
Week 11
Mon Mar 20
Final DVD of all projects due